Rainbow-y Granny Stripes Blanket

Originally I was hoping to make it for my dad in time for his visit. I started it in mid July 2012 and was hoping to have it done by early October. Unfortunately the blanket turned out far too big than I had originally planned. I should confess that I did notice early on but I HATE that second row of the foundation chain so much that I initially thought it would be a lot easier to just keep on going than starting over and make it smaller.

Let’s just say – Wrong move!

372 stitches per row.

Double crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet, double crochet, double crochet, double, crochet… You get the idea, I’m sure.

The only thing that gave me a bit of relief was the frequent color changes. Of course that also meant that a gazillion little threads needed to be weaved in.

About half way through the project, the blanket was known as “The Blanket from Hell”.

I originally told myself that I can only ever have one project going at a time or chances are I’d end up with a giant pile of WIPs and nothing would actually ever get finished but I had to break my rule, I had to step away for a bit and do something else.

I eventually finished it in mid December 2012. My husband fell in love with it so on Christmas, I happily surprised him with it.

As hard as it was to push on with the seemingly never ending double crochets, the end result was absolutely worth it! The colors are amazing! It is 60 x 80 inches so big enough for both of us to snuggle up on the couch.

The sweetest thing about this is that my husband loves it so much, he put it inside a duvet cover to protect it. It sort of defeats the purpose but at the same time it shows you how much it is treasured.

Have I mentioned that my grandma is still refusing to use the quilt I made her for her 90th birthday? She is showing it off to everybody but is scared that it’ll get a stain or something even though I have repeatedly told her it can be thrown in the washer and dryer. She’s still refusing to use it after I suggested the duvet cover method. It’s become one of her most treasured things just like the hand knitted socks she made for me over the years. Hand made things = LOVE.

 photo IMG_5977a_zps8636cab0.jpg

 photo pickleschristmas_087a_medium2_zpsf7ad60ac.jpg

 photo pickleschristmas_086a_medium2_zps577a3f21.jpg

Pattern: Granny Stripe
Yarn: Stylecraft Special Double Knit (the “Lucy Pack” plus white)
Hook: 4 mm

Leave a Reply

