Dampfnudeln

When I was looking for a recipe for the Weggli (“butt buns”), I also happened to come across the recipe for Dampfnudeln and I immediately started to crave them. My husband immediately proclaimed that it doesn’t sound like he’d enjoy them. Luckily I have plenty of friends and neighbors who enjoy my baking so I went ahead and made them anyway today.

Dampfnudeln are sort of a custard-y sweet bun made from a yeast dough. We’ve always had it as a dessert with vanilla custard and fruit compote (usually either berries or Italian plums).

Recipe is out of the 1991 edition of “Tiptopf” which is the cookbook used to teach grade 9ers in Switzerland how to cook. It contains also lovely recipes for tripe, tongue, liver etc. I wish I was kidding. I’m not sure who thought it would be a brilliant idea to get kids interested in cooking by suggesting they’d make such “delicacies”.

I’m pretty sure the last time I had Dampfnudeln was when we made them in said cooking class so clearly I was well overdue..

Dampfnudeln

Makes 8-10

Yeast dough:
250 grams white all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp sugar
40 grams soft butter
15 grams fresh yeast (I can’t find fresh yeast around here so I used 1 pack if instant dry yeast)
100 ml warm milk (not too hot though or you’ll kill the yeast)
1 egg

Mix the flour, salt, sugar, soft butter and yeast in bowl. Add egg and milk and mix well. Knead dough for 15 minutes. Cover it with a wet warm towel and let it raise until it doubles in size (approx. 1 hour).

For the “custard”

200 ml milk
3 tbsp sugar
40 grams butter
A splash of vanilla extract (not in the original recipe but love vanilla and it goes well with it especially if you serve it with the vanilla custard)

Mix everything and heat it up until the butter is melted.

Butter a 9 x 9 in baking dish. Pour half of the “custard” mixture into the baking dish. Shape 8-10 little balls out of the dough and spread them evenly around. Let the dough raise a second time for about 40 minutes.

 photo dampfnudeln_zpsaaa76731.jpg

Preheat the oven to 220 C/ 425 F. Bake for 20-25 minutes, take it out and use two forks to gently pull the Dampfnudeln apart. Pour the rest of the “custard” mixture into the gaps. Put it back into the oven and bake for another 10-15 minutes.

Best served warm with vanilla custard and/or fruit compote (jam is also lovely).

 photo IMG_8709_zps8d35a0f1.jpg

Guess who gobbled up 3 within about 5 minutes! Yup, my husband who was convinced he wouldn’t like them.

Leave a Reply

